Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne

“Though He was in the form of God, (He) did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made Himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.” Philippians 2:6-8

The title for this post comes from a hymn that we didn’t sing in my church growing up. A friend told me about this song and when I read the lyrics I was moved. They were written by Emily E. S. Elliot and they are powerful. Here are the first two verses:

Thou didst leave Thy throne and Thy kingly crown, When Thou camest to earth for me; But in Bethlehem’s home was there found no room for Thy holy nativity.

Heaven’s arches rang when the angels sang, Proclaiming Thy royal degree; But of lowly birth didst Thou come to earth, And in great humility.

We often think about the setting of Christ’s birth when He arrived, but I believe we don’t think enough about what He left. Jesus existed for all of eternity before His incarnation. He experienced unceasing worship and adoration in heaven’s courts. But He left all of that to take on human flesh and to experience scorn, ridicule, mocking, beatings, and crucifixion. Why did He leave heaven’s worship for earth’s rejection? Because He loves you and came to die for your sins!

2 Responses to Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne

  1. Melba Humphries Heard says:

    One of my friends posted your message on FB and as I read it, I noticed your name. My maiden name is Humphries and since it is rare to see this spelling, we must be somehow related. I am from Mississippi, but I know from family ancestry that we have family ties in Georgia and South Carolina from past generations. My father was one of nine children, so there are Humphries all over the country from our immediate family.
    I would love to know if our families are related!

    • Wade Humphries says:

      Hi Melba. We might be related. I know that my grandfather was originally from Georgia so there may be a connection somewhere. Small world! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

