Weekends are for Preachers

Lectio Continua Keeps You Balanced

I practice the lectio continua method of preaching. This is when a pastor starts with the first verse in a book of the Bible and then works consecutively through the book to the last verse. I’ve found that this approach to preaching keeps me balanced to present the entire counsel of God.

I had a conversation with our student pastor last week. He is preaching through the book of Genesis to our students. Last week he dealt with a passage that called for radical, sacrificial faith. God used it in a mighty way. But this week he preached the next passage that had a decidedly different tone. It had more of a pastoral feel as the passage dealt with our shortcomings and the need for God’s help and restoration. That’s balance, and it came as he simply preached through Genesis passage by passage.

I’ve found the same thing to be true in my preaching ministry. I know myself. I’m not balanced! There are doctrines and passages that I would constantly emphasize to the exclusion of other, vital areas of Scripture. I need the accountability of the lectio continua approach. I know this manner of preaching is not the only technique available to pastors but it has paid great dividends in my ministry.

Blessings,
Wade

Leave a Reply

