Weekends are for Preachers

As I continue to try and provide edifying content for preachers of the Word I wanted to share this quote with you from Charles Spurgeon. This quote comes from the first chapter of his wonderful book Lectures to My Students titled “The Minister’s Self-watch”:

We are in a certain sense, our own tools, and therefore must keep ourselves in order. If I want to preach the gospel, I can only use my own voice; therefore I must train my vocal powers. I can only think with my own brains, and feel with my own heart, and therefore I must educate my intellectual and emotional faculties. I can only weep and agonise for souls in my renewed nature, therefore must I watchfully maintain the tenderness which was in Christ Jesus. It will be in vain for me to stock my library, or organise societies, or project schemes, if I neglect the culture of myself; for books, and agencies, and systems, are only remotely the instruments of my holy calling; my own spirit, soul, and body, are my nearest machinery for sacred service; my spiritual faculties, and my inner life, are my battle axe and weapons of war.

Let’s watch and pray that we would not neglect our inner lives as we preach the Word. Have a great Sunday!

Blessings,
Wade

Leave a Reply

