A Tribute to My Mom (and her Savior)

As many of you know, my mother passed away last October. There were many things that I wanted to share about her at the funeral but I didn’t think I would be able to make it through. So, with Mother’s Day coming up on Sunday I thought it would be appropriate to pay tribute to her by sharing some precious memories.

Mom was an avid reader. She loved to read. She read all of the time. We all knew not to touch the paper until she had read it first. She would read the paper cover to cover! Every bit of it. News, Sports, Entertainment, etc. She was well-infomed about everything. She read lots of science fiction and mysteries. I think that my brother and I love to read because of mom. I remember her taking me to the library and letting me check out books as she cultivated in me a desire and love for reading.

Mom liked movies. Some of her movie tastes didn’t suit dad (i.e., science fiction) so she would have no problem going to a movie by herself. She would often sneak in a Subway sandwich and eat it during the movie. I always gave mom a hard time about her bootleg subs! She and dad would catch a lot of movies together too.

Mom loved the Seminoles. I remember going to games with her when the Seminoles would be blowing out the opposing team. Dad would want to leave a few minutes early to beat the traffic, but mom always wanted to stay to the very end. She loved the football, the band, Bobby Bowden, and the Tomahawk Chop!

Mom loved to shop. After my brother and I left home, mom’s wardrobe expanded into our closets. She loved clothes and was a classy dresser. She was also shrewd. She would go back to the same store again and again and wait for something to go on sale before she bought it. She also loved to take us school shopping. She would spare no expense. My best-dressed days were definitely in high school when she and dad were footing the bill. We would get home with bags of clothes and dad would ask how much we spent. Her common reply was, “Don’t worry about it!” By the way, before she passed away, she was carrying on the shopping tradition with her three grandsons and two granddaughters. She was constantly buying clothes for them.

Mom was a Home Economist which means she was an expert on many things. She could cook! My favorite things that she made were beef stroganoff and blueberry pie with homemade pie crust! She would always roll out a little extra dough and put cinnamon and sugar on it, bake it and eat it. The only strange thing about her cooking is that she would always serve corn with spaghetti! I guess that goes back to her Iowa roots!

Mom loved church. Some of my fondest memories are from my childhood when we would go to church every Sunday and sit in the same pew. Mom even left a pillow in her spot! On the way to church we would always stop and get mints for the entire family. About midway through the sermon mom would break out the mints and pass them down to us. Mom served in many roles at our church. She taught, ran the nursery for years, and served on the church council among other things. She was a “behind the scenes” person that loved her church. One the hardest things about her most recent illness was that she was not able to attend church and fellowship with her faith family.

I love mom and we all miss her but there’s something you need to know. Mom wasn’t perfect. She needed a Savior. She embraced Jesus as her Savior and because of that we know she is in heaven with Him.

We’re not perfect either. We need a Savior. Jesus died on the cross for our sins. He paid the penalty that our sins deserve as He took the wrath of God in our place. After He died, He rose from the dead, defeating death and the grave. He is alive today and He is mighty to save! If you will turn from your sins and embrace Christ by faith, He will forgive you of all of your sins and begin a life transformation process in you. You will have the hope and promise of eternal life in heaven and God’s unfailing presence as you walk through this life.

Mom wasn’t an outwardly emotional person. Two of the only times I saw her cry was when she was saying goodbye. The first was when we went with my brother to the airport as he left home to attend the United States Air Force Academy. The second was when she and dad helped me move into my college dorm and left me there as they returned home. Goodbyes are hard. Saying goodbye to mom this past October was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. But because of Jesus, one day we will see Mom again.

Blessings,

Pastor Wade

Leave a Reply

