Weekend Thoughts for Preachers

I’m going to start a new weekly feature that is meant to encourage preachers of the Word. These posts are for several young men in our church that are sensing a call to vocational ministry, the church planters we work with, and anyone else that preaches the Word that happens to read the blog. My goal will be to post something at the end of each week that will encourage and inspire as pastors prepare to preach on Sunday.

This week I was reading through the articles at the back of my ESV Study Bible. There are some really helpful articles that you should check out! I was especially encouraged by an article titled “Reading the Bible for Preaching and Public Worship” by R. Kent Hughes. I loved what he had to say about the sermon preparation process:

This is what should routinely happen to the preacher: the message should work its way through his whole intellectual and moral being as he prepares for and practices the proclamation of God’s Word. When the message has affected him deeply, then he is ready to preach. Sermon preparation is twenty hours of prayer. It is humble, holy, critical thinking. It is repeatedly asking the Holy Spirit for insight. It is the word penetrating into the depths of the preacher’s own soul. It is ongoing repentance. It is utter dependence. It is a singing heart. (emphasis mine)

I’m praying that the Word of God that will be preached Sunday will affect me deeply and affect you deeply for the glory of God and the good of His people.

Blessings,
Pastor Wade

Leave a comment